Versione Italiana English version
Path: Home » Department

Welcome to Energy Department!

The Department of Energy, born on January 1st, 2008, is a structure created under the impulse of professors and researchers previously belonging to four department traditionally related to the energy sector:

  • Department of Energy Engineering (merged in the new department)>
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Chemistry, Materials and Chemical Engineering “Giulio Natta”
  • Department of Nuclear Engineering (merged in the new department)

The decision to coordinate the activities of 16 research groups into a single structure allows to pro-vide, through a interdisciplinary approach, convenient solutions to the complex problems of the energy sector, now experiencing large importance and strong strategic relevance. Thanks to this in-itiative, Politecnico di Milano acquires a structure with few analogies in the European context as width of capabilities and depth of knowledge. With this potential, the Department of Energy aims to get an influent and independent role in public issues concerning the high-tech and energy fields.

Mission of Department of Energy to push forward technical and scientific competences in the ener-gy sector is achieved by means of high-level education, fundamental and applied research, technol-ogy transfer to industry thanks to the work of over 250 people (professors, technical and administra-tive staff, research fellows and PhD students) members of the Department